Without Reduction – a twelve-hour radio broadcast by Book Works for The Happy Hypocrite

Without Reduction is a twelve-hour radio event to mark the twelfth and final issue of The Happy Hypocrite – Without Reduction, issue 12, edited by Maria Fusco.

It will be broadcast on Resonance Extra on 25 September 2021, from midday to midnight. 

The Happy Hypocrite is a journal for and about experimental art writing, founded by Maria Fusco in 2008 and published by Book Works. This audio event will expand upon themes in the printed journal – commissioning new audio work from contributors to this issue, and the eleven previous ones. 

Contributors to both the print issue and radio broadcast are: Maria Fusco; Mohamed Abdelkarim; Andreia Afonso; Leila Al-Yousuf; Alison Ballance; Jordan Baseman; Ohad Ben Shimon; Claire Biddles, Nastya Nikolskaya and Mathew Wayne Parkin; Oisin Byrne; Julia Calver; Anna Chapman Parker; Jesse Darling; Daphne de Sonneville; Seán Elder; Seb Emina; Tim Etchells; Carl Gent; Dale Holmes; Adrien Howard and K Patrick; Agnė Jokšė; Sophie Jung; Sumaya Kassim; Rebecca La Marre; Amy Lam; Mohamedali Ltaief; Robert Herbert McClean; Chris McCormack; Susana Medina and Roc Sandford; Joseph Noonan-Ganley; Jaakko Pallasvuo; Joanna Walsh; Siân Williams and Kelly Best.

This project builds on The Happy Hypocrite’s history of organising national and international live events which have accompanied each issue, exploring the tension between the spoken and written word. Additional contributors include previous guest editors and collaborators: Sophia Al-Maria; Ruth Angel Edwards and Emily Pope; Renèe Helèna Browne and Mason Leaver-Yap; Anthony Iles; Virginija Januškevičiūtė; Huw Lemmey; Lisa Robertson; Erica Scourti; Lynne Tillman and Sarah Tripp. The broadcast will be interspersed with ‘hidden tracks’ selected by contributors including Charlotte Prodger, from The Happy Hypocrite – Heat Island, issue 7.

Cosey Fanni Tutti and Richard Birkett’s contribution, The Voice is Coming Now (2021), revisits Maria Fusco’s interview with Cosey Fanni Tutti in Linguistic HardcoreThe Happy Hypocrite, issue 1. Hannah Sawtell’s new looping remixes for 2021 – Ownership; Afghanistan; and Tryingnagotoparis – puncuate the twelve-hour duration of the event, divided into three, four-hour segments from midday to 4pm; 4pm to 8pm; and 8pm to midnight. Sawtell’s loops draw out the core concerns of her 2016 collaboration with Jlin and NTS for #ACCUMULATOR_PLUSThe Happy Hypocrite, issue 9.

Selected credits:

Images – top: courtesy of Mohamedali Ltaief, photo by Faris Amin. Middle: cover, designed by APFEL. Bottom: Andreia Afonso.

Cosey Fanni Tutti and Richard Birkett in conversation, The Voice is Coming Now, 2021, with:
Excerpt from ‘Sophic Ripple’ by Cosey Fanni Tutti, from the album Tutti, Conspiracy International, 2019
Excerpt from ‘The Sea’ by Delia Derbyshire and Barry Bermange, from the radio work The Dreams, BBC Worldwide Music, 1964
Excerpt from ‘Time to Tell’ by Cosey Fanni Tutti, from the album Time to Tell, originally released by Flowmotion, 1983, re-released by Conspiracy International, 2018

Afghanistan, Ownership, and Tryingnagotoparis draw out the core concerns of Hannah Sawtell’s 2016 collaboration with Jlin, NTS and Arts Council England

Hannah Sawtell with Jlin, #ACCUMULATOR_PLUS Live, 2016, with thanks to NTS and Arts Council England, and Huw Lemmey.

Renèe Helèna Browne with Mason Leaver-Yap, Sharlene Bamboat, and Hannah Fitz, Rebuilding Urania, 2021. Malin Lewis’ track ‘Are We’ courtesy OVER / AT.

Virginija Januškevičiūtė, Interviews with Eglė Budvytytė and Goda Paleikaitė, 2021
With words by the artists Eglė Budvytytė and Goda Paleikaitė and excerpts from the sountracks of their films: Goda Paleikaitė, I Write While Disappearing; and Eglė Budvytytė, Songs from the compost: mutating bodies, imploding stars

Original Sountrack, I Write While Disappearing mixed by Adomas Palekas, using various audio materials, including those from other copyrighted films.

Original Soundtrack, Songs from the compost: mutating bodies, imploding stars by Steve Martin Snider, who wrote and mastered the music. Vocals by Eglė Budvytytė.

Interviews originally conducted by Virginija Januškevičiūtė for Visual Art Vitrines, 2021, by the Lithuanian Culture Institute

For full credits, please download the PDF here.

Without Reduction – a twelve-hour radio broadcast by Book Works for The Happy Hypocrite; ; January 1970; | Commission: The Happy Hypocrite Editor: Fusco, Maria; | Publisher: Book Works: | Designer: APFEL (A Practice for Everyday Life) | Downloads: Shop ()